Boston DUI / OUI Lawyers
If you have been charged with the offense of operating a motor vehicle under the influence (OUI), or driving under the influence (DUI), do not underestimate the seriousness of this charge. It can jeopardize your freedom and can hurt both your personal and professional reputation in the community and on the job. It can make it impossible to get the job you want or even to get a loan or a professional license. This is why it is important to know that dedicated DUI / OUI defense attorneys in the Greater Boston area are here for you.
A person may be charged with an OUI / DUI offence if they are under the influence of either alcohol or drugs. Even taking a prescription drug that alters a person’s ability to drive may result in a DUI / OUI charge. These charges are particularly serious if the driver is under the age of 21. When you are charged with a DUI / OUI, it is important to get the proper professional help. Hiring an experienced OUI / DUI defense lawyer gives you a legal voice that can deal with law enforcement personnel and prosecutors and can give you a chance to be found not guilty or to get a lesser charge or a more lenient sentence.
Why Choose Our Boston OUI / DUI Attorneys?
The legal professionals at the Fitzgerald Law Company of Boston are experienced in both litigation and trial, with extensive experience in the defense of criminal offenses, such as driving under the influence. Our legal team is diverse and entirely bilingual, with everyone in our firm having the ability to speak fluent Spanish. When you hire us to represent you, we thoroughly evaluate your case to determine the best course of action for creating the strongest defense. In addition, you can rely on us to keep our communication open and maintain you up-to-date with all developments.
When you call our office, you will always be treated with respect and compassion. We will be sure to answer all your questions and to return your calls promptly. If your case goes to court, we will fight to protect your rights and work hard to get you the best possible outcome. All communication with our office will be kept confidential, and your privacy will always be respected. We also make sure that our clients get copies of all case-related documents that we prepare or receive.
Massachusetts OUI Laws
The state of Massachusetts has laws that are very strict when it comes to driving under the influence. Massachusetts law states that a person may be legally impaired to drive a vehicle if his or her blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, is .08% or higher. If the driver is under the age of 21, that legal limit is even less, or .02% or higher. If you are pulled over by a police officer due to suspected drunk driving and you refuse to take the breathalyzer or blood test that the officer requests, you may face a fine of at least $500 and may have your drivers’ license suspended for 180 days, or more.
Any driver that is found to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and who is also carrying a passenger under the age of 14 may also be charged with child endangerment. Any OUI / DUI incident that involves an accident with damage to a vehicle or injury to a driver or passenger may involve charges, fines and penalties that are even more severe. It usually takes about two or three drinks (1.5 ounces of 80 proof liquor or one 12-ounce beer or five-ounce glass of wine) to make a 180-pound man reach a BAC of .08%, but this can vary with individuals.
Penalties For an OUI / DUI
The penalties that come with a DUI / OUI charge become more severe after the first offense, and with each subsequent offense. However, penalties can be serious even for a first offense, with loss of driver’s license for up to 90 days and up to 2.5 years in jail. There may also be fees up to $5000, and the driver may have to take a course in alcohol awareness or do some type of community service.
For a second DUI / OUI offense, there is generally a minimum mandatory jail sentence of 60 days, with some exceptions after 30 days have been served. Fines may go as high as $10,000 and you may have to spend 2.5 years in jail. For a third OUI / DUI offense or for a felony OUI / DUI in which someone is injured, there is a 150-day minimum jail sentence and potential prison sentences increase in length according to the severity of the offense and related injuries. For a third DUI / OUI offense, the driver’s license will be revoked for at least eight years.
How Can I Fight My DUI / OUI?
When you are charged with an OUI / DUI offense, it is important to hire an experienced Massachusetts DUI / OUI lawyer right away. A skilled DUI / OUI attorney is familiar with the local legal system and can assist you to make sure your rights are protected and that you are protected from any unnecessary consequences. A defense attorney can question whether there was probable cause for the officer to stop you and pull you over, or whether the proper procedure was used to charge and arrest you.
If you have been charged with an OUI / DUI offense and you had witnesses at the scene who believed that you were not intoxicated at the time you were pulled over, this may also be an argument for your defense. The accuracy of the breathalyzer or blood alcohol content testing may be questioned, as there are some types of food and medications that can cause a breathalyzer to register as alcohol. If testing is done at a time during which the alcohol you drank has not yet been absorbed by your body, you may not yet be drunk, but may have a positive BAC. This may also be used as a possible defense.
Hire a DUI / OUI Attorney in Boston – See How We Can Help You
If you have been charged with a DUI / OUI offense, call today to learn how a OUI / DUI attorney in Boston can help you. The legal professionals at Fitzgerald Law Company of Boston, Massachusetts understand how to build a strong defense that will help you get the best possible outcome for your DUI case.
The experienced staff at Fitzgerald Law Company understand how a DUI / OUI charge can negatively impact your life. We are dedicated to helping you keep your freedom and your driving privileges as well as helping you avoid large fines and other penalties. We will work hard to fight for your rights so that you can have another chance. Call us at 617-303-2600 and let us be the legal advocates you can count on.
More Criminal Defense Frequently Asked Questions
Success Stories – Criminal Defense